Tel: 0114 272 3216


MOT Tester Training

ILM Level 2 Award in MOT Testing

Who is the qualification for?

This qualification is for individuals who want, or need to becom MOT Testers.  To be eligible to undertake this qualification to become an MOT Tester, a learner must:

Have a current and full UK Driving Licence for the vehicle classes they wish to test.

To be a skilled mechanic with at least 4 yesrs full time employment in the service and repair of the vehicle types to be tested.  (Apprentices who have been employed for 4 years are also eligible)

Have no unsspent criminal convictions for criminal offences connected with the MOT testing scheme or the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation.

Be of 'good repute'

and to become a nominated tester (NT) for class 3, 4, 5, or 7 vehicles they must also have an 'appropriate qualification.


This qualification is primarily developed for those individuals who wish to enhance their career by qualifying as an MOT Tester.  Achievement of this qualification enables them to apply to undertake DVSA final observed assessment in order to achieve their certificate of compitence (CoC), enabling them to become a Nominated Tester (NT).